Food Standards Australia New Zealand Logo
Food Standards Australia New Zealand Logo


​​​​​(September 2019)

The following are common types of shellfish and should be avoided if allergic:


    • Balmain bugs
    • Crab
    • Crayfish
    • Lobster
    • Moreton Bay Bugs
    • Marron
    • Shrimp (crevette)
    • Prawns
    • Yabbies


    • Abalone (paua)
    • Barnacles
    • Clams
    • Cockles
    • Cuttlefish
    • Kina
    • Limpets
    • Mussels
    • Octopus
    • Oysters
    • Periwinkles
    • Pipi
    • Scallops
    • Sea snails
    • Squid (calamari)
    • Tuatua
    • Toheroa

Check if the following foods contain shellfish and if they do, avoid them if allergic:

  • Asian soups and dishes
  • Bouillabaisse
  • Chitin
  • Cuttlefish ink
  • Fish chowder
  • Fish sauce, stock or paste
  • Flavouring (natural/artificial)
  • Marinara or Pescatore sauce
  • Oyster sauce
  • Prawn crackers, prawn chips
  • Seafood extender
  • Seafood flavouring (e.g. clam)
  • Squid Ink
  • Surimi
  • Sushi

Food served in a seafood or other restaurant may be cross contaminated with shellfish during storage, preparation and cooking.

Please note that it is possible for an allergic reaction to occur from cooking odours or handling of shellfish.

This is not a complete or comprehensive list of ingredients to avoid but is intended as helpful information for people living with shellfish allergy. It is NOT meant to replace medical advice given by your doctor.

More information

​​​​​​ ​


Return to top