Skip to main content
Food Standards Australia New Zealand Logo

Food safety standards (Australia only)

(July 2014)

Food safety standards place obligations on Australian food businesses to produce food that is safe and suitable to eat.  There are also health and hygiene obligations for food handlers.  The standards aim to lower the incidence of food-borne illness.

A food business is any business or activity that involves the handling of any type of food for sale, or the sale of food in Australia. The requirements apply to all commercial, charitable or community activities including ‘once-only’ projects that involve the handling or sale of food.

Charity and community groups, temporary events and home-based businesses are exempt from some of the requirements in the standards. Read more 

FSANZ has developed separate standards for food businesses in the primary production and processing sectors.

Note: Food businesses in New Zealand are required to comply with New Zealand’s Food Act 1981 and the regulations and standards under this Act. For more information visit the Ministry for Primary Industries website.

Food safety standards

There are five food safety standards:
Standards 3.2.2 and 3.2.3 are mandatory for all food businesses. Safe Food Australia is the guide to the mandatory standards.



Return to top