Skip to main content
Food Standards Australia New Zealand Logo

Quick Launch

Lupin

(May 2018)

Foods and ingredients to avoid if you are allergic to lupin:

  • Lupin / lupini / lupine
  • Lupin kernel
  • Lupin beans
  • Lupin bran or fibre
  • Lupin flour
  • Lupinus
  • White lupin / Lupinus albus
  • Yellow lupin / Lupinus luteus
  • Narrow-leafed sweet lupin
  • Pear or tarwin lupin

Check the labels on the following foods to see if they contain lupin and if they do, avoid them:

  • Baked products (e.g. cookies, breads, cakes, muffins)
  • Battered or crumbed foods
  • Biscuits
  • Cereals
  • Condiments
  • Confectionery (sweets/ lollies)
  • Convenience foods
  • Creams
  • Crepes / pancakes
  • Desserts
  • Glazes
  • Health drinks
  • Ice cream
  • Lupin beverages e.g. ‘milks’
  • Mayonnaise
  • Miso
  • Noodles
  • Pasta
  • Pizza
  • Salads / salad dressings
  • Sauces
  • Sausage
  • Snack bars
  • Tofu / Tempeh
  • Wafers
  • Waffles
  • Yoghurts
 

Lupin is a legume which like soy and peanut has the potential to be an allergen. Some people who are allergic to peanuts may also be allergic to lupin.

Lupin has not been commonly used in Australian or New Zealand foods except for some imported foods, such as gluten free pasta products. However, lupin flour or lupin bran / fibre is now being used more widely and in a variety of products due to their high protein and fibre content, and it is also gluten free.

Food additives made from lupin may also be used in a wide variety of processed foods.

This is not a complete or comprehensive list of ingredients to avoid but is intended as helpful information for people living with lupin allergy. It is NOT meant to replace medical advice given by your doctor.

More information

Print

Return to top